I lost a race to Platinum Scout Controller. Here’s what I learned.

I’ve been playing ingress since September 2018, so just over 4 years now. For me, Ingress has always been a sandbox game for us to play how we want to, with badges just at various arbitrary milestones.

I play in a way that bring me joy, whether that’s microfielding, BAFing, Missions, Field Engines, OPR / Wayfarer or just visiting new places.

At the stage I am, 300mil+ AP, it can be hard to motivate myself to grind for a badge, so I’ve challenged other agents to a race to a certain badge, however I don’t have the best track record.

I raced @RobLovesTheSESH to Onyx Recon. I lost, the forfeit was to recurse to the other faction. That was a fun 15 days as a frog.

I raced @dd1989 to Platinum Purifier, Platinum Hacker and Onyx Scout… losing all three of them too. Thankfully with no forfeit.

I recently raced dd1989 to Platinum Scout Controller, but - and there’s a pattern emerging here, I lost. 

This is a wee sitrep of the competition, my thoughts and what I’ve learned from it. 

Scout Controller is a weird metric. It is unique portals that agents have become scout controller of.

Becoming scout controller requires agents to out-scan the current controller, except if the current controller last uploaded a scan within 30 days, only one scan is needed. The game doesn’t state how many scans are needed to become scout controller, only how many community scans have been uploaded within the cell cycle. 

We also only get a finite number of scans, 50 per day, capped at 400. Scans require good light to work, to combat this, I invested in a torch.

From a mathematical point of view, I was at a significant disadvantage. I was behind on the stat AND because of scanning to trigger Battle Beacons for the Epiphany Dawn Phase 2. I had fewer scans available.

We are also based in the same region of Aberdeenshire, Scotland. So we were literally against each other in both the stat and having to  claim controller.