New player frustrations

I started playing Ingress recently as a fun reason to take my dog on longer walks. I joined the green team and immediately noticed that eveything around me was blue. I found a few small patches of neutral portals and had fun taking them over. I tried attacking a couple of the "weaker" blue portals to no avail. With the small field I managed to establish I was able to get to level 5 rather quickly. I also noticed another patch of green in another area. I started looking into the profiles of the other players in the area and the other green player was about my level and the blue fields were controlled by 3 players all level 16. One night I got started getting messages about the other green player's portals under attack (since I'd put some resonaters in their portals). I watched the map as the blue players wiped them completely off the map in a matter of minutes. The next night, my field was gone. I moved further out to a new patch of neutral portals and set up a nice little field to try and grind levels. Within an hour it was completely blue. I'm seriously thinking this game isn't new player friendly since any new players can just get completely cruched underfoot by high level players without them even thinking about it. Is it just me? Since I'm only playing while taking my dog for a walk I can't keep moving further and further out and since almost all the portals around me are on average level 7 and bristling with shields, what am I supposed to do?

Tagged:

Comments

• ArkFangArkFang ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2021

Welcome to the game! Hopefully you're enjoying it for the most part!