Fix the Basics please!

MuzzgoodMuzzgood ✭✭✭
edited May 2020 in App Feedback (Archive)

I have been playing Ingress since 2015, I was a dedicated player on the redacted platform, the platform was stable, fast and had minimal footprint on phone performance and net traffic performance: So we know the game can be played with low graphics and almost no net traffic, right?

Fix the Basics

• Obliterate alarm latency. 20 seconds latency is far too long time when link fencing on the field. When I get the alarm the portal is already taken and a link is up. Even if I am in position by the right portal I fail block link due to alarm delay. This just sucks and was NEVER an issue on the Redacted platform it had no latency for alarms. In link fencing situations ONE second is a long time.
  • Cut app startup time 10-20 times! And add visual startup progress. When playing in forest areas with low mobile net service I just can't get the app started. Yes I know I have a low performance mobile phone but so what, why should I need laptop performance and city mobile net service to start the app? When moving on the field I quit the app to avoid speed ban, this means I need to start it at every portal. Several times the app has not started -I think -I don't know the screen was just black for 15 seconds so I restarted and restarted the app. A startup progress indication bar would give helpful information if the startup is working. All this startup mess takes several minutes which means I lost the fight already. Startup was NEVER an issue with Redacted I think it started in 3-7 seconds max. Work with cache and you don't need to load the whole world and every picture to start the app, most data can be loaded after the app is started. And why do I need a message not to play Ingress in dangerous areas every time I start the app? What I need is a 5 second startup and max 2 seconds to make my link. I can read the ToS where not to play or do a basic training.