About the Ingress Server - History and Plans

ofer2ofer2 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited February 2020 in Ingress Insights

Hi, I’m @ofer2 and I’m an engineer on the Ingress team in LA. In an effort to be more transparent and open with the agent community about recent server issues and maintenance windows, I wanted to share a behind-the-scenes look to help clarify where things are today, and where we’re heading. 

First, a little bit of history: Ingress started out as a small team within Google. We were originally an autonomous unit trying to answer the question, “What if Google Earth were a videogame?” The community shared fan art for game invites, captured portals seeded from the Historical Marker Database (HMdb.org), and the game began to grow. The game was built on Google’s infrastructure, and it’s what we refer to as our classic servers. 

Later, Niantic spun out from Google as an independent startup. While Niantic transitioned to its next phase, our game team used lessons learned from Ingress and created new infrastructure for our second game: Pokemon GO. This new set of platform servers was designed to support even more players, and is both high performance and low cost. Meanwhile, Ingress continued to run on our classic servers.

Shortly after the successful launch of Pokemon GO, our Ingress team was tasked with rewriting the client because its foundational core was no longer supported. Like the classic servers, the original client was also designed in a way that made continued development more difficult and costly. On our server team, we made the decision to also move from the classic servers to our platform servers, and write new Ingress-specific features (like links and fields) on top of it. Unfortunately, both client and server transitions took much longer than expected, with the client being the most pressing need due to the risk of losing iOS support. .