[SITREP] Operation Euregio

JCDKingJCDKing ✭✭✭
edited January 2020 in SITREPs

On December 29th,  2019 around 40 agents from Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands built a field covering many cities near the border triangle, including Aachen, Liège and Maastricht. 

To get the numbers out of the way:

• 31 layers 
  • 1.8 MMU per layer
  • Total of over 55 MMU
  • 21 layers in CP 
  • 4 new black Illuminator badges

The initial idea for this field came from the agent who pretty much taught me everything about Ingress. He wanted to field the so called Euregio. The cities Liège, Aachen, Hasselt, Eupen and Maastricht are located in this area. Back at home after I had this first conversation with him I started drawing a plan. I quickly noticed that, to have the region completely covered in the field, we needed to shift the anchors further away. 

So I contacted our friends in the Krefeld area to give me a good anchor. I also contacted our friends in Trier. All of them helped in previous fields, but only a few had the black Illuminator badge. So the decision was easy. The fields will be closed mostly in Trier as a small gift. 

So the draw was finished. It was around 10 AM when the Orga group chat was created. Funnily one agent was building solo fields at this moment and the selected north anchor was pretty much on his route back home. So just 4 hours after finishing the draw the keys were already farmed. 

After scanning the corridors more carefully we had 2 difficult areas to link through. We needed top class agents, with lots of contacts in order to clear the corridor in these areas and were lucky enough to get two of them.

Furthermore we needed a CP and with a lot of different operations in the last quarter of 2019 we didn't really have much choice. So we decided to build the field between Christmas and new years eve.