Adding a New Portal tab for comms

Now that pokemon go players are getting new portals/pokestops approved it would be helpful to have notifications of new portals in comms. This would facilitate the upvote process to promote gyms in pokemon go, so that gyms are added in locations which are appropriate and accessible for the majority of pokemon go players. We have a local discord group that has several Ingress players in it, to help in the photo upvote process, but we only know about new portals that are group has submitted, so some new portals might get gyms selected that are not ideal. If we had a comms channel that announced new portals the group would have one place to go and it would greatly facilitate upvoting.

Comments

• People like me? I've been playing Ingress for 7 years and I'm on my 2nd recursion. Been playing pokemon go since the beginning. I do see a value in knowing about new portals in my area besides the upvoting, so I can know they are out there and go get a unique. I'm trying to bridge the gap here until Niantic hopefully catches up. Seems like a pretty easy development just to add a new comms section, but I'm sure they would turn it into something more complicated. I'm in favor of more interaction with other games. The upvoting gym mechanics is flawed but it has resulted in pogo players being interested in Ingress. I look at it as a challenge to bridge the 2 world's, and figure out the S2 cells, S14 and S17 levels, its given me a better understanding of what is going on in the background and why some things are the way they are.

• Random gym locations is a bad idea. It has already resulted in gyms in unsafe locations and on properties that dont want a bunch of pokemon go activity. Upvoting more accessible locations isnt gaming the system it's doing the right thing by putting a gym where the players want it, and will benefit the majority, and not just a random location where it wont get used.