Ingress Game Design doesn't gel with Goals

13»

Comments

• MuzzgoodMuzzgood ✭✭✭
    edited October 2019

Ok, good for you. And You are now holding the new territory in your color? It's not just to take -it is to hold also. I have several years of experience of playing in the underdog faction and it would not have been possible holding territory without hard shields and defense since topdog has more players and gear -so all cudos to You! In the areas I watch things have gone the opposite way as You describe since Aegis nerf last december, dominance has accelerated. Good to share experiences!

• MrCathulhuMrCathulhu ✭✭✭
    edited November 2019

There was no "hard choice", just excuses to charge more. If increasing the social aspect truly is the reason they did it, then I honestly don't know what to say because it's just outright bizarre and wrong.

Frackers definitely help people fill up on gear faster, but in places and times where flash farms are a must and have limited life spans that is an advantage and a huge risk.

They will never replace people who can just farm more gear more often anyway, locally I saw no real difference on balance because of frackers. There are many other variables.

Both sides still had social gatherings at farms frackers or not, if anything using them more likely meant more people being there to take advantage of them. Because they cost money, and were such huge risk (farm smashing was big here).

Now, even with the prices doubled, both sides largely farm on their own because we have a gigantic university full of portals that is almost permanently level 8 and green. No one tracks it and we have little need for frackers, which people are far less likely to buy now that they cost more.

I know I sure am never buying them again at this price.

• I know I sure am never buying them again at this price.

Then the stated goal of reducing the number of frackers in the game economy succeeded.