Why do you submit portals?

I started playing Ingress to create more Pokéstops in Pokémon GO as many others have done before. My area wasn't barren in terms of Pokéstops due to being in a relatively big city and having a big park near my house, but I always saw the potential in my city to grow.

We had one person in the area that submitted Portals, but it was very slow, so I decided to take the plunge and start playing Ingress. After getting to lvl 10 and being able to submit portals, I ventured off and started submitting portals straight away. With the help of my friend that taught everything I needed to know, I had a relatively high acceptance rate with my first batch of portals. This started to diminish when the "easy" portals got accepted and I started to need to submit more dicey portals.

Despite this, what kept me going though all this was the satisfaction of people in my local community being happy and amazed by the portals I managed to put into the games. Just having somebody go up to you and say that you really helped them by putting a pokéstop near them or hearing random people comment on all the new Pokéstops is a feeling that gives me motivation to keep going.

What made you start submitting portals and what keeps you going?

tl;dr To help the people in my local community

Comments

• I used to play "real world" games all over town and when new portals appeared, it was kinda magical. Now, I am the wizard and i love helping the muggles.

• I submit portals because I want to contribute. Feels right .... but I'm going to feel like an idiot if I end up having to pay for the privilege to play ingress.

Initially I got many too many rejections, duplicates and too close to another portals compared to actual new portals results. So this put me off quite a bit. My kid (3yo) had chemo 9 months ago so we are just starting to get back enough immunity to hit the parks around us. And we are loving it - the portal discovery is just an excuse to try a new park.