A Case for Shutting Down the Game

joecainjoecain ✭✭✭✭✭

Hear me out before you insta-disagree with this.

I have been playing since 2012, so I have a broad frame of reference when it comes to Niantic and Ingress. I have done fielding, anomalies, First Saturdays, NL POC, field art, goruck, shards, Mission Day POC, IO, you name it.

My propositions for the community are simple:

1. Many players have lost objectivity regarding expectations of the Ingress team. I have witnessed an increasingly blind level of support for Niantic and Ingress no matter what. Perhaps players are terrified of losing access to something they've spent so much time and money on?
  2. Niantic's level of effort to support and promote the game has fallen to an all-time minimum. They seem to have abandoned the community. Who is our community manager? How is communication with the community to be done and how often should we expect it? What is going on with development? Where is the release roadmap?
  3. The (active) Ingress player count has fallen below the level required to sustain a functional community. Many areas are nearly devoid of any player activity. Red faction was an interesting diversion, but not a long-term solution to a declining player base. Has Niantic done anything recently to promote or advertise Ingress to the public?
  4. If Niantic is unwilling to make vast, measurable improvements to #2 and #3 above, they should consider shutting down the game.

That said, I asked ChatGPT to write a scenario for game shutdown:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As an AI language model, I am not privy to Niantic's internal workings or decision-making processes, but I can offer a general plan that Niantic could consider if they were to decide to shut down their game Ingress after years of decline: