Scout Controller

TheAuraStormTheAuraStorm ✭✭✭✭

Following on from the previous thread, myself and a number of others were less than happy with the requirements for the new “Scout Controller” badge.

Apologies in advance, this is an essay...

@NianticBrian recognised that some valid points, but wanted to give it at least two weeks before any potential changes, and with some metrics to hand about the number of scans agents are doing.

I’ve been playing for about two years, and have 6126 unique visits and 4334 unique caps.

I consider myself a well rounded player and will try to Onyx every badge, but the near impossible requirements of this badge are very off-putting, and have served as a disincentive to scan than anything.

Issues with the badge requirements:

We have two other actions that have a badge for the action itself, and that action on unique portals. That being Hacks with Hacker and Explorer respectively, as well as Liberator and Pioneer.

Onyx Hacker asks for 200,000 hacks, and Onyx Explorer asks for 30,000, this means that the badge for the action on unique portals is 1/6 of the Onyx action badge itself.

Onyx Liberator asks for 40,000 portal captures while Onyx Pioneer asks for 20,000, the ‘uniques’ badge asks for 1/2 of the actions than the standard badge for total actions.

I understand that Scout Controller isn’t Scout on uniques, there is another step, but for argument’s sake, let’s treat it as it is. Onyx Scout asks for 6,000 total successful scans, while Scout Controller asks for 15,000 unique portals, that’s a multiplier of x2.5.

Mathematically, this doesn’t make sense. The badge for an action on unique portals, should be less, as it is with Pioneer and Explorer. One would have to have to have at least Scout Onyx x2.5 to get Onyx Scout Controller.

We are also limited by 200 Scans every fortnight, to predict how long it would take to get Onyx, the following assumptions must be made: