Niantic - GPS Spoofing Increase.

SSSputnikSSSputnik ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 2020 in General

First off, I am not a founder, however I have been active in Ingress for many years. I am a Resistance agent.

(West Australia/Indian Ocean area active).

In the last four weeks or so, we are seeing a large increase in the number of serious GPS abuse actions.

We had a large Enl field spoofed down before all layers could be completed. This cost the players a lot of time and money, including airfare to get to offshore island, ferries, accommodation etc. Several of Enl agents were enraged- and I don't blame them. This lead to much improving xfac relations, disintegrating again.

Next, we had lines set up for Resistance, which involved a few days driving, only to have a spoofer complete the fields for them.

Next, the large Enl fields over India, were enabled by spoofing down of hard Res blockers. These are global score altering fields.

Trawling over Intel for evidence of impacted portals, all sorts of agent names started becoming apparent. (We keep a close eye on the area, it's sparsely populated, and generally, we all know who is who.

So @NianticBrian @NianticCasey We- the players, end up spending a ton of time and money putting fields up, then even more time doing detective work, preparing reports, getting reports knocked back, resubmitting reports, then asking for resets. It's a lot of work.

Yes- we can get resets now, this is good, but still a lot of time and effort and coordinating between factions. Often when one faction is rather angry. Often with incomplete data. We now have screenshot only chats for the purpose of storing legit deploy data, periodic intel screenshots for link recording, hell whole operations just for tracking cheated down portals and links.

We should not be having to do this.

Yes, this has been going on for years.

It's about time Niantic put SERIOUS EFFORT into anti spoofing and multi accounting.