[Feature Request] Allow microfielding under existing fields

Since I started playing Ingress, one of the biggest issues I've seen for player retention is the inability for new players to create fields. Seasoned veterans on both sides relish in delight being able to "cover over" low level players, effectively hoping to push them out of the game. They do this so people have to drive multiple towns over, just to open the field for playability.

Given the state the game is currently in, we really should be encouraging people to stay.

Would it be possible to allow linking while under a field with limitations?

Potential Limitations:

1) Links still wouldn't be allowed to cross other links.

2) The maximum link distance would be significantly restricted while under a field. This way people could still play(microfield) in portal dense areas, but couldn't create large MU chunks while under another field. Maybe the equivalent of a level 2 or 3 portal distance? This could be tweaked to make sure large fields still rule, but don't disallow leveling to occur.,

3) Maybe only allow agents under a certain level to use this feature? Level 8? Level 10?

Tagged:

Comments

• mortuusmortuus ✭✭✭✭✭

I agree, when a new player after going through tutorial cant make fields and dont understand why i fully get it they lose interest and quit, u should be able to do fields under existing but with a penalty with less MU or points or something ??

• Kevinsky86Kevinsky86 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2020

Your claim that veterans create large fields in the hopes to discourage new players from staying, instead of for example, you know, cell score, is quite the assumption there bud.

But I agree with the general core of your post that permafields that cover vast area's of land can be problematic and support the idea to create fields under fields considering the current game state and player bases state in a lot of area's.