Started out Enlightened but game switched me to Resistance

Hey there! I’m new to the game and really enjoying it so far. Only problem is, while out last night hacking portals, etc a screen popped up and next thing I know it’s telling me I’m with the Resistance as opposed to Enlightened which is the faction I chose upon creating my account.

is there any way this can be fixed? I’m a little confused as to why that happened.

2 votes

Working On A Fix · Last Updated

Comments

• InvestigateXMInvestigateXM ✭✭✭✭✭

Did you cross 40 000 total AP gained yesterday, by any chance? In that case, new agents will get a one time choice of changing their faction or keeping it, in case you feel like your region is unbalanced, for example. In that case, you'll probably need to open a support ticket to reset your account and to switch faction again.

• Thank you for replying!

Yes I did. I was about to hit level 4 when it happened…the screen popped up so fast while I was playing and then it was gone. For a minute i thought it was an in game thing…like the Resistance messing with me or something lol. Now I know that’s not the case.

Hopefully support can sort it out. Guess in the end it doesn’t matter what faction I’m with because I’m having such a blast playing…so much so that I’ve barely touched pogo since picking up Ingress.

thank you again for responding!

• InvestigateXMInvestigateXM ✭✭✭✭✭

In that case, keep playing! A faction change via support means that you'd lose all your items and be reset to L1. If you don't really care what faction you belong to, it would suck to restart from scratch again. Welcome to Ingress, Agent!

As a side note, I'd recommend every new player to read this guide. If you do switch back to Green, just flip the colors in your head, both factions have the same gameplay.