Etymology behind the Nemesis names

MoogModularMoogModular ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 2020 in The Investigation

As we have reached the end of the Tessellation, I wanted to provide some insight on the origin of the names for the members of Nemesis. By the time we reached Helvetica (I think sometime around August/September 2019), we began to joke about fonts attacking the Osiris node. The codenames that Nemesis used are font types but there's more to that. The etymology behind these codenames give some insight.

I want to note the below is my interpretation of the names. I know there's many other ways to come to similar conclusions. I am not an expert on etymology so I do not doubt some of my explanations can be wrong based on the linguistics. Feel free to add your own interpretation or thoughts.

Myriad. The literal translation can be 10000 or an indefinitely great number in Greek. As the Catalyst, she set out to infect individual Portals via a virus delivery mechanism in her glove. The challenge we had was to visit many unique portals to counteract her efforts.

Aurora. In Latin, aurora means dawn. There's two ways to interpret the character's name. In the 28 Days of Ingression, Aurora is the name for Day 2. The blanket of color bathing the world was only the dawn of a new erafor the many permanent changes of the Nemesis node. The same can be said for Aurora's introduction to the Osiris node. We were presented with Aurora's Game. the first time of using the Janus Laboratorium website.