Tessellation Medals FAQ

edited April 2020 in The Tessellation

01. What is the Tessellation?

The Tessellation is a global media hunt that started in October 2019. It involves Ingress lore study, speed, community coordination, and decoding. Currently, we've transitioned from live Portal hacking to virtual hunting with passcode redemption & Intel map exploration. Visit here if you want to read more about the rules. We recommend going through the rest of this FAQ list before diving into the full rules.

02. I'm very new to this. How can I participate in the Tessellation?

Here are some Agent-driven resources all over the world that will get you up to speed faster. We also recommend reaching out to members from your Faction. 

03. What are Tesserae?

A Tessera (plural Tesserae) is a hexagonal media object released by a mysterious entity called the Tethered Hand. They could be obtained through Portal hacks, won at Live-Drop operations, or redeemed through passcodes via the Scanner or Intel Map. At this time, all Tesserae are acquired through passcode redemption.

04. I am a solo player. Can I still participate?

Yes. The Tessellation is a game of community collaboration, but there are ways to contribute through solo play. The Global Tessera Drops are posted in an announcement in this Forum section in the form of a pdf. The pdf contains a list of passcodes that will give you a Tessera media. Take a screenshot of the media and upload it to the appropriate thread (the one you found the original pdf in) along with your Faction (e.g ENL or RES), and you are eligible for a Knight Medal. Make sure you don’t edit your comment or else it will be disregarded.

The Target Tesserae are harder, but not impossible, to retrieve when you are solo because they often require decoding and group research. Feel free to challenge yourself. If you’re great at it, your Faction would for sure like your help, too.

05. How can an Agent who has trouble accessing the Community Forums participate?